The Chinese Embassy has presented awards of excellence to 11 Wisconsin students for their outstanding performance in Chinese language. The awards ceremony, on 14th November 2017, was attended by the Counsellor of the Chinese Embassy in Ghana, Mr. Jian Zhouteng.

Also in attendance at the 5th Chinese Scholarship Awards ceremony were Wisconsin’s Vice Chancellor Prof. Obeng Mireku, Registrar, Mr. Frank Yeboah, Heads of Department, Faculty, Staff and students.

The ceremony is organised annually by the Chinese Embassy to recognise students who have excelled in the Chinese language.

In his address on behalf of the Chinese Ambassador Her Excellency Sun Baohong, the Counsellor of the Chinese Embassy, Mr. Tsian Zhoutong, stated how impressed he was with the awardees’ serious approach to the study of the Chinese language and encouraged others to follow suit.

“The Chinese language is the world’s most widely spoken language - 12.44% of the world’s population speaks Chinese,” Mr Zhoutong said.

He added: “As China becomes the second largest economy (in the world), learning Chinese does not only help (in understanding) China, it also helps in sharing China’s development dividends and realising one’s personal dreams.

“Only this year, 1,100 students have been given study visas by the embassy to study in China.”

Thanking the Chinese Embassy on behalf of the institution, Wisconsin’s Vice Chancellor Professor Obeng Mireku said: "We are grateful to the Chinese Ambassador, H.E. Sun Baohong, and the Chinese Embassy for their continued support and recognition of outstanding Chinese language students at our institution.  

"Wisconsin prides itself in offering a wide range of transferable skills, and proficiency in foreign languages is among these. 

"Wisconsin looks forward to deepening its partnership with the Chinese people to build mutual understanding of our language and culture, as well as to explore opportunities for exchange programmes for our lecturers and students. 

“We also look forward to collaborating further in the area of education, seeing as China is fast becoming a leader in this field, among many others it already excels in."

 The award winners were as follows:

First prize

  • Appiagyei Nuarko Jackson
  • Louisa Anamuah

Second prize

  • Akkufo Denise
  • Konate Amadu Tijani
  • Yakubu Wali
  • Bank Michelle Effeh
  • Frank Lartey Lartequaye
  • Malm Jessica Akossiwa
  • Rexford Laryea Mensah
  • Amwelmo Akolgo
  • Hafissu Yussif

Colourful activities such as a choreography performance by Denise Akkufo and a musical interlude by Lartey Lartequaye Frank spiced up the event. First prize winner Appiagyei Nuarko Jackson also gave the vote of thanks in Chinese on behalf of the award winners.

Currently, there are nearly 300 students studying Chinese language and culture at Wisconsin under the Department of Language Arts. Chinese, along with French and English, is compulsory for all undergraduate students taking a four-year programme.

The Department of Language Arts, under the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, is seeking to establish a Certificate in Chinese Language programme within the next academic year.